# Best Automatic Cat Feeders 2026 — 5 Compared

> Five automatic cat feeders compared on capacity, meals per day, portion size, per-pet recognition and what happens in a power cut. Sources attached.

Source page: /best-automatic-cat-feeder/

---
**Affiliate disclosure:** The Pet Docket earns a commission from some links on this site. That never changes what we publish or how we rank a product. [How we make money](/disclosure/)

[The Pet Docket](/) Menu

[Litter boxes](/best-self-cleaning-litter-box/)[Feeders](/best-automatic-cat-feeder/)[Finder](/litter-box-finder/)[Pet insurance](/pet-insurance/)[Methodology](/methodology/)

[Methodology](/methodology/) The Pet Docket [Disclosure](/disclosure/)

# The automatic cat feeders

A feeder is a small motor, a hopper and a promise. Does it keep feeding when the power goes out?

[Filter by your household](/feeder-finder/)

[Jump to the comparison table](#comparison)[What the table cannot show](#questions)[Read the questions](#feeder-faq)

![A white cat and a border collie in profile, rim lit against a near black background.](/photos/hero-3.jpg)![A ginger cat and a german shepherd in profile, rim lit against a near black background.](/photos/hero-4.jpg)![A black cat and a greyhound in profile, rim lit against a near black background.](/photos/hero-1.jpg)![A silver tabby cat and a yellow labrador retriever in profile, rim lit against a near black background.](/photos/hero-2.jpg)

4 products compared Read 28 Oct 2026

## What a feeder has to do

The promise is the interesting part.

Does it keep feeding when the power goes out, and can it tell one animal from another? Those two questions separate the four models here, and the answers are printed on the manufacturers' own pages.

What changes the answer

Three questions to ask any feeder

Does the schedule survive a cut?

all 4 yes

Can it tell pets apart?

2 of 4

Handles wet food

1 of 4

Longest warranty

36 months

Dated price published

2 of 4

Two models have no published US list price, so we publish no price for them rather than guessing.

[Read the full method](/methodology/)

## Three worth shortlisting

One for each kind of household.

Each one is on the list for a stated reason, and the reason is printed beside it. The full breakdown sits on the review page, with the owner complaint record and the date we read it.

### [PETLIBRO Granary Smart Camera Feeder](/reviews/petlibro-granary-camera/)

Rotary dispenser, 1080p camera, two-way audio

Dual band radio, a 1080p camera, 10 meals a day and 50 portions per meal at the lower end of the price range. Dry food only, and the camera stops working on battery.

Best for a single cat on a budget $139–$150 2 years warranty dry food only

### [SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder Connect](/reviews/surefeed-microchip-connect/)

Microchip reader, locking bowl, integrated scale

The only unit that reads an implanted microchip, and the only one that handles wet food. It carries the longest warranty in our set and the lowest owner rating, with some reports of a sensitive bowl lock.

Best when one pet must not eat another $194.86–$239.4 3 years warranty wet + dry

### [PETKIT YumShare Dual-Hopper with Camera](/reviews/petkit-yumshare-dual-hopper/)

Dual hopper, auto-tracking camera, two-way audio

The largest hopper we found at 21 cups, with auto-tracking and two-way audio. We do not publish a price for it because we could not find a dated US list price, and we will not fill the gap with a guess.

Best for a multi-pet household Price not published Not stated warranty dry food only

## All four, on the same columns

Click a column heading to sort.

A dash means the source did not publish the figure.

*Automatic pet feeders in the Pet Docket dataset, observed 2026-10-28.*

| Product | Capacity | Meals/day | Portions/meal | Wet food | Per-pet ID | Wi-Fi | Warranty | Sold for | Price |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [PETLIBRO Granary Smart Camera Feeder](/reviews/petlibro-granary-camera/)

Rotary dispenser, 1080p camera, two-way audio

 | 5 L | 10 | 50 | No | none, motion detection only | 2.4 + 5 GHz | 2 years | Cats & dogs | $139–$150 |
| [PETLIBRO One RFID](/reviews/petlibro-one-rfid/)

RFID collar tag controlled lid, sealed rotor

 | 3 L | 10 | 48 | No | RFID collar tag, one pet per unit | 2.4 + 5 GHz | 2 years | Cats & dogs | Price not published |
| [PETKIT YumShare Dual-Hopper with Camera](/reviews/petkit-yumshare-dual-hopper/)

Dual hopper, auto-tracking camera, two-way audio

 | 21 cups | — | — | No | Camera auto-tracking, monitoring only. It does not lock one pet out. | 2.4 + 5 GHz | Not stated | Cats | Price not published |
| [SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder Connect](/reviews/surefeed-microchip-connect/)

Microchip reader, locking bowl, integrated scale

 | 0.4 L | — | — | Yes | Implanted microchip or RFID collar tag, up to 32 pets | No Wi-Fi required | 3 years | Cats & dogs | $194.86–$239.4 |
| [PetSafe Smart Feed 2.0 Wi-Fi](/reviews/petsafe-smart-feed-2-0/)

App-controlled auger feeder with a 24-cup dry-food hopper, a stainless bowl with a removable holder, and an optional 15-minute Slow Feed mode with Amazon Alexa support.

 | 5.68 L | 12 | — | No | None. Multi-pet management is a shared app account, not per-pet portioning. | 2.4 GHz | 1 year | Cats & dogs | $107.86–$129.95 |

Sources per product are listed on each review page. Prices are dated observations from the retailer or manufacturer named there, not live quotes.

## What the table cannot show

Three things to read the source for.

### Portion size is not portion count

The PETLIBRO Granary dispenses 20 ml per portion and allows up to 50 portions per meal. That is 1 litre per meal if the app is set to maximum, which for a cat is absurd and for a large dog is about right. Check the millilitre figure, not the portion count.

### Subscription features hide in the fine print

On the PETLIBRO Granary, live streaming is included but AI analysis and video recording sit behind a paid Video Cloud subscription, charged per feeder. We list that because it changes the cost of ownership, not because it disqualifies the product.

### Battery mode is a downgrade

On battery, every camera model here drops Wi-Fi, recording and the reset button. The schedule still runs. If you are buying an automatic feeder because you travel, the camera is the part that stops working when you need it least and the food is the part that keeps working.

![A cat's paw reaching into a ceramic bowl on a dark surface.](/photos/bowl-both.jpg)

20 ml

what one portion dispenses, before you count fifty of them

5 L

the hopper of the PETLIBRO Granary, around three and a half kilos

## Feeder questions

**What happens to the schedule during a power cut?** Every model we track keeps running its meal schedule on battery, and every camera-equipped model disables the camera and the Wi-Fi to save power. So the food still arrives, but you stop getting the alert and the recording. That trade is stated plainly on each manufacturer FAQ we read, and it is worth knowing before you rely on remote monitoring for a pet with a medical diet.

**How do I stop one pet eating another pet food?** Only two mechanisms in our set genuinely restrict access. The SureFeed Microchip Connect reads your pet's implanted microchip and unlocks the bowl for that pet alone, and the PETLIBRO One RFID does the same with a collar tag. A camera that watches your pet eat, such as the PETKIT YumShare dual hopper, monitors the behaviour but does not physically stop it.

**Is a camera feeder worth the money?** It depends what you are buying it for. A 1080p camera with a 145 degree lens and two-way audio is genuinely useful if you work long hours and want to check a meal actually happened. It is not useful if you want to know who is eating, because a camera identifies by sight while only a microchip or tag reader identifies by access. The PETLIBRO Granary also puts video recording behind a paid Video Cloud subscription, per feeder.

**How much food do these actually hold?** The PETLIBRO Granary holds 5 litres, the PETLIBRO One RFID 3 litres, the PETKIT YumShare dual hopper 21 cups, and the SureFeed 400 ml. A litre of dry kibble is roughly 0.7 kg, so 5 litres is around three and a half kilos, a few weeks for a single cat on its own. The SureFeed bowl is designed for one meal at a time.

**Do any of them handle wet food?** Only the SureFeed Microchip Connect. The other three are dry food only, and the PETLIBRO Granary states this explicitly in its own FAQ.

## Narrow it down first

Set the meals a day, the capacity and the features you need, and the dataset filters itself in front of you.

[Open the finder](/feeder-finder/)

[The Pet Docket](/)

Every number we publish carries the source it came from and the date we read it. Where we could not verify a figure, we leave it out rather than estimate it.

#### Reviews

-   [Best self-cleaning litter boxes](/best-self-cleaning-litter-box/)
-   [Best automatic cat feeders](/best-automatic-cat-feeder/)
-   [Best automatic dog feeders](/best-automatic-dog-feeder/)
-   [Best dog water fountains](/best-dog-water-fountains/)
-   [Litter box finder](/litter-box-finder/)
-   [Feeder finder](/feeder-finder/)
-   [Dog gear finder](/dog-gear-finder/)
-   [Pet insurance comparison](/pet-insurance/)

#### About

-   [How we work](/methodology/)
-   [About The Pet Docket](/about/)
-   [Affiliate disclosure](/disclosure/)
-   [Contact](/contact/)

#### For tools

-   [llms.txt](/llms.txt)
-   [llms-full.txt](/llms-full.txt)
-   [Product dataset](/api/catalog.json)
-   [API catalog](/.well-known/api-catalog.json)
-   [auth.md](/auth.md)

© 2026 The Pet Docket. Dataset v1.1.0, observed 2026-10-28. [Privacy](/privacy/) · [Disclosure](/disclosure/) · [Methodology](/methodology/)

Photographs on this site were generated for The Pet Docket and show cats and rooms, not the products reviewed. Product photography is needed; until then every product is described from its published specification.
